“Just Asking” with Worcester Sharks Brandon Mashinter

Brandon Mashinter's official headshot for the 2010-11 NHL season. Photo courtesy of http://www.sharksahl.com

This week’s edition of “Just Asking” is with second year Worcester Sharks forward Brandon Mashinter, who made his NHL debut with the San Jose Sharks on December 29, 2010 at Minnesota and has played in 12 games this season for San Jose.  Even though “Mash” hasn’t registered his first NHL point yet, he currently has 31 points {14 goals, 17 assists} and 94 penalty minutes in 58 games for Worcester this season.

I need to give a big thank you and shout out to Worcester Sharks goalie Carter Hutton, who made this interview possible as he was the one that got me in touch with “Mash” via email after I had sent email asking Hutton and Dan DaSilva if anyone else on the team would like to be interviewed.

Lastly, I want to thank “Mash” again for allowing me to interview him and wish him and the rest of the Worcester Sharks good luck this weekend as they continue to fight for the third and final guaranteed playoff spot in the Atlantic Division of the AHL Eastern Conference.

On my days off, I like toRelax, play video games, go to the mall.

Favorite road cityLA was pretty cool.

Exercise I hate the mostRunning.  I am a terrible runner.

Favorite dessertFunnel Cake from Canada’s Wonderland.

My hockey idol isJerome Iginla.

The piece of equipment I’m the pickiest about isMy stick.

Who has the hardest shot on the team…I think between Justin Braun or Niclas Wallin.

Who’s your roommate on the roadI had Ryane Clowe.

My favorite pre-game meal isChicken and pasta with vodka sauce.

Favorite sport outside hockeyGolf.

Funniest person on the San Jose Sharks isScotty Nichol or Jumbo {Joe Thornton}

Teammate I hang out with the mostIn Worcester, my roommates Carter Hutton, Tommy Wingels and Cameron MacIntyre.  When I was in San Jose, I was in the hotel so I would hang out with the other guys in the hotel.

Favorite hockey momentPlaying my first NHL game.

My first job wasWorking for my parents.  They owned a wood shavings business.

What would you do for a living if it wasn’t for hockeyIf I was better at golf I’d do that but most likely would be a firefighter.

To pass the time on long tripsI sleep or watch movies.

Favorite professional sports team (other than sharks)Toronto Maple Leafs.

People say I look likeI have gotten Tom Welling a couple times.

Who do you model your playing style afterI don’t really try to be like anyone but myself but I have been compared to Clowe so I watch him quite a bit and learn from him.

Why do you wear your jersey numberI wear number 53 in Worcester in memory of my uncle who passed away.  His birthday was in 1953.  In San Jose, I wear 72 because that’s what the team gave me.

About Jon Allred

Life long San Jose and Worcester Sharks fan that bleeds teal and black.

Posted on April 1, 2011, in Sports and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

