Cheechoo and Ozolinsh score in KHL All-Star Game

KHLAllStar

Saturday evening, former San Jose and Worcester Sharks players Jonathan Cheechoo and Sandis Ozolinsh were a part of Team West at the sixth annual Kontinental Hockey League (KHL) All-Star Game.

Both Cheechoo and Ozolinsh scored for Team West, who defeated Team East 18-16. In addition, Cheechoo tallied an assist on Geoff Platt’s game-winning-goal at 18:19 of the third period.

“It’s a huge honor to play in the All-Star Game, something I can be proud of,” said Cheechoo in a Jan. 10 interview with Medvescak.com. “This game proves that hard work pays off. Medvescak has been playing well the whole season, and my teammates on my line do a good job of passing me the puck to score. That’s why my trip to the All-Star was earned by the whole team, especially the teammates on my line.

“I’m proud of that because the way I play and the effort I put in every game gets recognized. My participation in the All-Star team was voted by fans, which is amazing. That proves that the fan base in Croatia is excellent and that fans back home are still following me. I have to admit that that’s a great feeling.”

For the season, Cheechoo, who is the captain of Medvescak Zagreb, leads Medvescak in scoring with 32 points on 18 goals and 14 assists through 43 games played. Ozolinsh through 42 games played is the second leading scoring defenseman on Dynamo Riga with 20 points on four goals and 16 assists.

**Photos via KHL PhotoBank**

About Jon Allred

Life long San Jose and Worcester Sharks fan that bleeds teal and black.

Posted on January 12, 2014, in Sports and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

